What Exactly Are the Seven Deadly Sins?


Pride, envy, wrath, gluttony, lust, sloth, and greed are considered as seven deadly sins, as identified by Pope Gregory 1 in the late sixth century.

Sin is harmful. “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord,” says Romans 6:23. But why are certain sins referred to as the “Seven Deadly Sins”? Consider the historical and biblical context of this well-known phrase.

Sin Definition

Sin is defined as “an offense against religious or moral law” as well as a “transgression of God’s law.” The biblical definition of sin suggests three aspects: disobedience to or breach of the law, violation of interpersonal relationships, and rebellion against God, which is the most fundamental concept.

What exactly are the Seven Deadly Sins?

The seven deadly sins, as identified by Pope Gregory 1 in the late sixth century, are classified as sin categories:

  1. Pride,
  2. Envy,
  3. Wrath,
  4. Gluttony,
  5. Lust,
  6. Sloth,
  7. and greed

Many people believe the deadly seven are mentioned in the Bible. Surprisingly, despite the fact that each of the seven is a sin, this list is not found in the Bible. This categorization of sins dates back to the year 400.

Evagrius Ponticus, a fourth-century monk, described eight evils that should be avoided. Pope Gregory 1 refined the inventory to seven items two centuries later. Almost every sin falls into one of these seven categories. According to Isaiah 14:13-14, pride and selfishness are related to each of the seven and are regarded as the root causes of all sin.

The Bible’s Seven Deadly Sins

These seven specific sins are addressed throughout the entirety of the Bible. The deadly sins may have been identified in Exodus, Deuteronomy, Proverbs, and Galatians.

Ten Commandments (Exodus 20 and Deuteronomy 5)

1. You are not to have any other gods before me. 2. Do not create an idol. 3. Never use the Lord’s name in vain. 4. Remember and keep the Sabbath holy. 5. Respect your parents. 6. Do not commit murder. 7. Do not engage in adultery. 8th. Do not steal. 9. Don’t tell any lies. 10. Resist the urge to covet.

Proverbs 6:16-19 (KJV)

“Haughty eyes, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked plans, feet that make haste to run to evil, a false witness who breathes out lies, and one who sows discord among brothers are six things that the Lord despises, seven that are an abomination to him.” (ESV)

Galatians 5:19-21 (KJV)

This passage adds a few more sins to be aware of: “Now the works of the flesh are manifest: sexual immorality, impurity, sensuality, idolatry, sorcery, enmity, strife, jealousy, fits of anger, rivalries, dissensions, divisions, envy, drunkenness, orgies, and such things.” I warn you, as I have previously warned you, that those who do such things will not inherit God’s kingdom.” (ESV)

Sin is a dangerous and deadly business.

Can Mortal Sins Be Forgiven?

Yes, God is able to forgive all sins. There is no greater or more lethal sin than another (Romans 6:23). Some sins have greater earthly ramifications than others. Murder, for example, has far-reaching consequences than sinful rage.

Whatever the sin, the eternal ramifications are the same: separation from a holy God. However, no sin is too big or too bad for God to forgive.

“He is faithful and just to forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness if we confess our sins.” 1 John 1:9 (KJV)
“And whenever you stand praying, forgive anyone if you have anything against them, so that your Father in heaven may also forgive you your trespasses.” 11:25 Mark

The Meanings of the Seven Deadly Sins and What the Bible Says

Christians can combat the seven deadly sins in their lives by exhibiting godly characteristics and growing in the fruit of the Spirit.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control; there is no law against such things” (Galatians 5:22-23).

1. Pride. Definition: the quality or state of being proud, such as excessive self-esteem or arrogance

Humility, meekness, love of God, love of others, and appropriate self-worth are the antidotes.

2. Envy. Definition: a painful or resentful awareness of another’s advantage combined with a desire to have the same advantage.

Love, joy, thankfulness, compassion, and satisfaction are the antidotes.

3. Wrath is defined as Strong vengeful rage or indignation

Peace, gentleness, and self-control are the antidotes.

4. Gluttony is defined as excessive indulgence (typically food or drink)

Self-control, contentment, patience, and discernment are the antidotes.

5. Desire. Lasciviousness, intense or unbridled (sexual) desire

Antidote: love, selflessness

6. Sloth. Sloth is defined as a disinclination to action or labor, spiritual apathy, and inactivity.

Perseverance, diligence, and servanthood are the opposites of perseverance, diligence, and servanthood.

7. Greed is number seven. a selfish and excessive desire for more of something (such as money) than is required (material goods)

Generosity and kindness are the antidotes.

Read Next:

Daily Devotional: The Corrupting Influence of Sin

Are you interested in Business? Read More Here…

Editorial Staff
Editorial Staffhttps://dailycrosswalk.com
Hello. Thank you for visiting our site. At Dailycrosswalk.com we are made up of a team of writers, editors, and content producers seeking to provide applicable, educational, inspirational and entertaining content to followers of Jesus Christ led by Prince Wilson and trusted by thousands of  readers worldwide.

Read Free Stories Online

free stories

━ You may also like

What The Bible Asserts Concerning Annoyance/Rage

The Bible didn’t say "Never be angry." In truth, it depicts Jesus the faultless man, the Son of God, who drove the avaricious money-changers...

Death: How Your Existence On Earth Is Very Limited/Short

Death remains the great equalizer no matter whom you are, how fresh or old, what measure of success you’ve attained, or where you live....

The Believer’s Highest Honor

John 12:20-26: What the Bible teaches and what the world promotes are diametrically opposed. Our culture places a premium on power, leadership, and ambition,...

Biography of Pastor Enoch Adejare Adeboye (Pastor E.A Adeboye)

Enoch Adejare Adeboye is a name that almost every Nigerian identify with. He is a humble, easy going and soft spoken Nigerian pastor. As...

Kenneth Copeland Biography, Early Life, Ministry, Family, & Net Worth

Kenneth Max Copeland (born December 6, 1936) is a charismatic televangelist and author from the United States. Kenneth Copeland Ministries, his ministry, is based...

The Chosen (TV series). What You Need To Know

American director Dallas Jenkins developed, directed, and co-wrote The Chosen, a television drama based on the life of Jesus of Nazareth. The Chosen season one...